Easter and all it means…

I remember as a little kid, growing up in a big family, being especially excited about Easter. It wasn’t so much about the chocolate, but more so about all of my family coming together. It was one of the few requests my dear old, now departed Dad asked of his six children.

Now my family is splintered around the world and in so many more ways I won’t go into here.

I still try and perform this family custom with a gathering of friends for my annual Good Friday BBQ (ummm ahh) being raised as a Catholic, this is especially naughty! As Catholics (I classify myself as a collapsed Catholic!) we are supposed to not celebrate, and traditionally no music or fun was to be had on this sad day. and especially no meat.

What I now love about preparing for the annual BBQ tomorrow is the many responses from my varied friends, I’m a vego I’ll bring a vegie burger. I have passover that night so I’ll come early. What can I bring, how can I help.

I love my friends they are an awesomeness cocktail from many varied backgrounds, religions and traditions. For some its just a four day weekend. For me, in what my parents always wanted was at least two days of the year (Easter and Christmas) is that we all get together and celebrate.

I’ll be doing that in spades, and also celebrating new life, not so much in the traditional view of Jesus is risen, but in that the next generation of my family is due to be born on Easter Saturday.

Happy Easter everyone, drive safe and be happy….eat chocolate and just remember there is more than stuff to buy that’s important.

About jbmandm

I run a marketing consultancy, I work, I eat, I go out too much. I really love my dog. I'll try not to talk too much about work,,,,or my dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

