In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends

This quote I read today on an Artists explanation for their artwork they submitted for an Art Prize I have been promoting for 6 years –  The Gallipoli Art Prize. Written by Martin Luther King Jr, this quote has somehow struck a cord with me and I’ve been thinking about it all day, amid the rush of the Art Prize’s announcement and handling the media, artists and the client.

This client is special to me, seen by some as a fuddy duddy group of old fellows, but what I loved today, as with all years, was the wide range of people being in one room, from 10  to 80 years old, all chatting about the world and getting on famously. Amidst this I met representatives of the Turkish and New Zealand Consulate and Kathryn Griener, who was representing the Anzac Centenary Committee. Also there were diggers from Vietnam, WW2 and Afghanistan. Its always an interesting day.

Also great is that its a rare time for the journalists  and photographers to mingle amongst the fantastic refreshments the Gallipoli Club offers. They are all competing for stories and from opposition outlets. I loved seeing The ABC, Fairfax, Daily Tele, The Australian and AAP photographers each discuss and give advice to each other on what the best camera angles were and who should take which shot. There was however competition over who got the last fresh prawn!

Also in the room was a man that once was my friend but who did some despicable and disloyal things to me. I was shocked to see him, he knowing full well I would be there working and I knowing he was not on the invitation list. Somehow this quote got me through seeing him.

Somehow this quote rings true for all today had on offer.

I will try and remember this quote – when things get tough, people do the wrong thing to me and each other.

Australia, NZ and Turkish representatives together again in 2012

The Creed of The Gallipoli Memorial Club

About jbmandm

I run a marketing consultancy, I work, I eat, I go out too much. I really love my dog. I'll try not to talk too much about work,,,,or my dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends

  1. alturnertive says:

    Thanks for sharing that, Jacqui. xxx

  2. jbmandm says:

    Its an interesting quote as you could interpret it in numerous ways…am still thinking about it!

  3. This is a timely quote for me and a recent experience. The two parts go together–a coworker’s harsh treatment, and the lack of backup from coworker “friends.” It’s a reminder to me to always be that friend who speaks up in support. It’s really not that hard to do the right thing!

  4. jbmandm says:

    Agree – I have been in the same situation in a work and personal space. not a nice thing to realise that loyalty is not always apparent to people and that often the easy way out is to stay silent. I myself am always speaking out when I think there is injustice (please read my crowd funding blog) and it has often got me into all sorts of trouble. BUT at the end of the day, I sleep very very well at night! no guts no glory

Leave a Reply

