Bail Hi (and low)

Struggling to find the balance with totally over the top luxury after  visiting 5 star resorts and bars for dinner and walking home to my nice, but simple villa. As i walk, next door, or in between  villas are locals living in shacks, clearly poor.

The cow in the field next door eating rubbish, the puppy looking worm infested….these things are playing on my mind, especially as i was planning a shopping expedition  today.  I think i don’t need all that stuff, i should do something more meanngful with my dollars.

Yes i should buy to support locals. Yes i should tip. But i feel the great inequity between first & third world.

I was pretty well zoned  out after a few days in Ubud, moving back to Seminyak yesterday realising we didn’t have the right change and gave the driver $10usd more than the agreed fee reinforced this. The look in his eyes, hugely grateful, a tear. I think i saw a tear. $10usd to us is a large latte each.

And then the reality of the history here when our taxi is searched for bombs as we drive into a resort for sundowners. Then watching local Balinese having their bags searched while the tourists walk straight by. Really? Like no Westerner has ever been in involved in terrorism.

The inequality of life. The reason everyone should travel. Open your eyes, see what the world is really like. Escaping my bubble.

About jbmandm

I run a marketing consultancy, I work, I eat, I go out too much. I really love my dog. I'll try not to talk too much about work,,,,or my dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

