Animals of Sri Lanka

Everyone would know I love animals. Obsessed with them, grew up with them and always told to deeply respect them. My family are all massive animal lovers, we grew up on a farm and they protected us, loved us, gave us income and a reason to get up in the morning. So when choosing my latest holiday, animals, as well as beaches, food and good times are always in the mix!

Am outside Galle, having been here two days now and the range of all creatures is amazing. I’m writing this surrounded by birds, weird squirrel type rat things, dogs, cats,horses, thalpe  mongoose, snakes and more insects you could poke a stick at. Happy is what i am! And thats just on land – turtles, whales, dolphins, extrordinary seafood in the beautiful sea.

image

image

image

image

There are a large number of street dogs, but they are not scrangy like the street dogs that broke my heart in Bali or Jamica. These dogs are well fed, sure they have ear mites and skin conditions, but this humid climate would present similar problems in the most loved well kept pets. I’ve seen numerous dogs, just like my beloved Oliver, foxy/Jack Russell and my heart lept. These dogs are friendly as well and happy ! Oliver 2 lay beside me by the pool, happy rolling around. He didn’t beg just wanted to hang out.  As Sri Lanka is mainly Buddhist, I presume that is why they’re looked after? I am by the coast and food is plentiful,especially seafood, these dogs snack on fresh tuna! I slept soundly last night comforted in the knowledge that i was protected by the guest house dogs. Am off now to find a pet shop to get a large pack of treats and to donate to the animal welfare groups that are clearly doing a fantastic job in a third world country that has had so many challenges.    

image

About jbmandm

I run a marketing consultancy, I work, I eat, I go out too much. I really love my dog. I'll try not to talk too much about work,,,,or my dog.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Animals of Sri Lanka

  1. Pingback: Why National Geographic Magazine will never ask me to write for them. - Contented Traveller | Contented Traveller

Leave a Reply

